Multi-Industry Letter Regarding the Mark-up of the Safe Chemicals Act

Sunday, July 22, 2012 - 8:00pm

The Honorable Barbara Boxer
Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Frank Lautenberg
Chairman, Subcommittee on Superfund, Toxics and Environmental Health
Committee on Environment and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairmen Boxer and Lautenberg:

We are writing to you on behalf of the American Alliance for Innovation, a large group of diverse businesses, both big and small, including chemical producers, manufacturers and other companies that use chemicals as essential elements of their products, and retailers who sell finished goods to the public. The sound oversight of the production and use of chemicals affects us all, which is why we are committed to science-based, common-sense bipartisan reform of our nation’s chemical regulatory system.

We appreciate the efforts of Members of this Committee to address the numerous and complex issues involved with updating the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA). We were particularly pleased to learn of the mid-June agreement between Senators Lautenberg and a group of Republican Senators led by Senator David Vitter to work together to develop new and bipartisan legislation to modernize chemical regulation in the United States. We believe that such an ongoing bipartisan collaboration is essential to developing a bill that can transcend the polarization that has plagued this debate.

Therefore, we were disappointed to learn that the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works has decided to move forward with a legislative mark-up of the Safe Chemicals Act. Given that the bipartisan negotiations have just begun, holding a mark-up of legislation which lacks critical support will only serve to undermine the effort and fracture a promising, new, bipartisan process.

We hope that you will reconsider the decision to mark-up the Safe Chemicals Act this week, and remain committed to supporting the current bipartisan effort to modernize TSCA.

Adhesive and Sealant Council
Alkylphenols & Ethoxylates Research Council
Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers
American Apparel & Footwear Association
American Chemistry Council
American Cleaning Institute
American Coatings Association
American Forest & Paper Association
American Fuel & Petrochemical Manufacturers
American Petroleum Institute
Automotive Aftermarket Industry Association
Corn Refiners Association
CropLife America
Edison Electric Institute
Fashion Accessories Shippers Association
Flavor & Extract Manufacturers Association
Grocery Manufacturers Association
Halogenated Solvents Industry Alliance, Inc.
Industrial Minerals Association – North America (IMA-NA)
Institute of Makers of Explosives
International Fragrance Association North America
International Institute of Synthetic Rubber Producers, Inc.
International Sleep Products Association
National Association for Surface Finishing
National Association of Chemical Distributors
National Association of Manufacturers
National Oilseed Processors Association
National Retail Federation
Nickel Institute
Personal Care Products Council
Pine Chemicals Association
Retail Industry Leaders Association
Rubber Manufacturers Association
Society of Chemical Manufacturers and Affiliates
Specialty Graphic Imaging Association
SPI: The Plastics Industry Trade Association
Styrene Information & Research Center
The Vinyl Institute
Toy Industry Association, Inc.
Travel Goods Association
Treated Wood Council
United States Chamber of Commerce
Utility Solid Waste Activities Group

cc: The Honorable James Inhofe, Ranking Member, Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works
The Honorable Michael Crapo, Ranking Member, Senate Subcommittee on Superfund, Toxics and Environmental Health, Committee on Environment and Public Works
The Honorable Lamar Alexander
The Honorable David Vitter