How They Voted Methodology

Since 1965, the Chamber has rated senators and members of Congress based on the votes they have cast for or against business priorities. Beginning with the 2019 legislative year, we also included measures of Leadership and Bipartisanship.

Recently, the Chamber released our complete scorecard for the entire Congress. Each member of Congress receives an Annual and a Lifetime score. 


The Annual score has three components: Legislative (80%), Leadership (10%), and Bipartisanship (10%). 

Legislative (80%)

Legislative measures how consistently a member of Congress votes in support of pro-growth, pro-business legislation. This edition of “How They Voted” includes 18 House and nine Senate votes from the beginning of the 116th Congress through the Senate vote on the U.S.-Mexico-Canada Free Trade Agreement in January of 2020. Only recorded votes on legislation on which the Chamber has formally communicated its position are included. 

Leadership (10%)

Leadership makes up 10% of a Member’s total “How They Voted” score. Throughout the 116th Congress, the Chamber has urged members to either cosponsor — or refrain from cosponsoring — specific bills. The Leadership component measures the number of times a Member has acted in accordance with the Chamber’s requests. Members are ranked relative to the performance of all other members of their party. The top ranked of both parties earn 100%. 

Bipartisanship (10%)

Bipartisanship also comprises up to 10% of a Member’s Annual Score. It is based on the number of bills — except those formally opposed by the Chamber — a Member cosponsors introduced by a Member of the opposite party. Similar to Leadership, the Bipartisanship component is calculated on a ranking relative to a Member’s performance compared to members of their own party. The top ranked of both parties earn 100%.


Lifetime score is an average of Annual scores for a Member’s entire tenure in Congress. It does not reset for a break in service or from a move from one chamber to the other.


These members received additional credit for their strong engagement in helping pass the USMCA.