The Cybersecurity Leadership Council functions as Cyber, Intelligence, and Supply Chain Security Division’s (CISD) advisory board and sets the Chamber’s cyber policy priorities.

Both the Cyber Working Group and the National Security Task Force are influenced by the guidance and recommendations of the council. The council is made up of approximately 30 members representing mostly large and midsize businesses across multiple sectors, along with associations and universities. Council members inform policy decisions and engagement with the executive and legislative branches and guide Chamber policy positions on emerging issues, such as 5G, IoT, and cyber deterrence.

  • Council members meet monthly with senior government officials in an intimate setting to foster discussion and relationship building. Meetings are off the record. By way of example, we have hosted meetings with the executive director of the U.S. Cyberspace Solarium Commission and his senior staff (three times since September 2019); members of Congress (e.g., Jim Langevin, Roger Wicker) and professional committee staff; DHS Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Agency leadership, including Director Christopher Krebs, Jeannette Manfra, Bob Kolasky, and Brian Harrell; Department of Energy Assistant Secretary Karen Evans; Federal CISO and NSC Senior Director for Cybersecurity Policy Grant Schneider, among others.
  • Cyber Leadership Council members have exclusive access to senior civilian, intelligence, defense, and law enforcement officials, which enables them to advance their public policy objectives and mature these relationships.