December 04, 2020


CHILLICOTHE, OHIO –For the fifth consecutive year, the U.S. Chamber of Commerce Foundation's Hiring Our Heroes, in partnership with Kenworth Trucking and FASTPORT, announced the2020 Transition Trucking: Driving for Excellence award winner on Friday, December 4, 2020 at a small, socially-distanced event at the Kenmore Manufacturing Plant in Chillicothe, Ohio.

U.S. Army veteran and current Werner Enterprises truck driver Ivan Hernandez became the 2020 award winner during the ceremony. As the winner, Hernandez was handed the keys to a new, full-loaded Kenworth T680 truck with a manufacturer’s suggested retail price of approximately $155,000 and the opportunity to be an owner-operator.

“Thank you to everyone that voted for me,” Hernandez said.

Hernandez was selected following a yearlong competition among veterans, National Guard members and reservists who have made the successful transition in the trucking industry following military service. A public vote and an independent selection committee narrowed the field down to Hernandez and three other finalists. This year’s runner-up was U.S. Army veteran and Steven Transport driver Ray Miller who was presented with a $10,000 check. Finalists Gail Losee, U.S. Army veteran and Stevens Transport driver was presented with a $5,000 check as was Shaun Mason, a U.S. Marine Corps and U.S. Army veteran and Prime Inc. driver.

Launched in 2016, the Transition Trucking: Driving for Excellence award is aimed to highlight support for veteran employment and is part of a larger effort to curb the emerging truck driver shortage. The campaign is one way Hiring Our Heroes, Kenworth Trucking, and FASTPORT pay it forward to veterans.

"We are pleased to recognize Ivan Hernandez for his 20 years of military service and continued service to his community. We are grateful for Kenworth's ongoing commitment to veteran owner-operators in the industry as the T680 will greatly support Ivan's success,” said Eric Eversole, president of Hiring Our Heroes and a vice president at the U.S. Chamber of Commerce.