June 14, 2023


WASHINGTON, D.C. — At its board meeting last week, the U.S. Chamber of Commerce awarded the Accreditation designation to three chambers of commerce for their sound policies, effective organizational procedures, and positive impact on their communities.

“When chambers of commerce earn the distinction of becoming Accredited, it is a mark of excellence for the organization, its staff, and its leadership” said Raymond P. Towle, U.S. Chamber Vice President, Federation Relations and IOM.  “This rigorous review includes all aspects of a chamber’s policies, operations, and programming.  Accredited chambers are recognized for their continued advocacy of free enterprise, and for their commitment to serving members and their local business communities.  Congratulations on this tremendous accomplishment.”

The U.S. Chamber's Accreditation Program facilitates continuing excellence in the chamber industry and fosters a pro-business environment across America. In order to receive Accreditation, a chamber must meet minimum standards in their operations and programs, including areas of governance, government affairs, communications, and technology. This extensive self-review can take 6-9 months to complete. 

Local and regional chambers are rated “Accredited,” “Accredited with 3 Stars,” “Accredited with 4 Stars,” or “Accredited with 5 Stars.” State chambers are rated “Accredited State Chamber,” or “Accredited State Chamber with Distinction.” The final determination is made by the accrediting board, a committee of U.S. Chamber board members, and chamber CEOs from across the country. 

The following chambers of commerce received accreditation:

Accredited with 5 Stars

  • Manhattan Area Chamber of Commerce (Manhattan, KS)
  • North Central Massachusetts Chamber of Commerce (Fitchburg, MA)
  • Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce (Tyler, TX)