C_TEC Announces Co-Chairs for Working Groups

Thursday, April 20, 2017 - 2:30pm

The U.S. Chamber of Commerce’s Chamber Technology Engagement Center (C_TEC) today announced the co-chairs for its three working groups – Internet of Things (IoT), Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAV), and Autonomous Vehicles (AV).  The working groups lead campaigns designed to educate policymakers, regulators, the media, the business community, and the public on benefits of the technologies across the economy. All three working groups meet regularly throughout the year. 

The co-chairs are listed below:


·         Melissa Tye, Verizon

·         Amy Oberhelman, Target


·         Dave Bowen, Measure

·         Ryan Terry, Lockheed Martin


·         Marjorie Dickman, Intel

·         Avery Ash, Inrix

·         Jon Van Arsdell, Allstate

“We need diverse perspectives to best understand and address emerging technologies,” said Tim Day, senior vice president of C_TEC. “I am pleased to have Melissa, Amy, Dave, Ryan, Marjorie, Avery and Jon join our team, and am grateful of their commitment to C_TEC. They bring a broad cross-section of business experience – from insurance to pure-play technologies – that will help promote the role of technology in growing our economy.”  

The working groups develop and advocate for policy solutions that promote diverse technologies. Previously, the working groups have promoted AV guidance with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and connected devices before the National Institute of Standards and Technology and the House Energy & Commerce Committee. Additionally, the working groups have organized TecTalks on Capitol Hill, which bring together industry leaders and lawmakers. Staff members from Capitol Hill and government agencies have also addressed the working groups to discuss technology policies. 

C_TEC brings policymakers and tech industry leaders together to advance policies that promote the role of technology in the economy. It also partners with other divisions within the U.S. Chamber on issues such as national security, transportation, and international regulations.

For information on the working groups and future meetings, please contact C_TEC@uschamber.com