September 23, 2021



The Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC), a forum consisting of the United States and 20 other economies surrounding the Pacific Rim, facilitates trade and investment in the Asia-Pacific region.

APEC has sought to open markets, cut tariffs, and reduce other trade barriers across the Pacific region. APEC promotes regional economic integration, encourages high-quality trade agreements, and is exploring a Free Trade Area of the Asia-Pacific (FTAAP) as a long-term prospect. APEC leaders believe that free trade and investment boosts economic growth, creates jobs, and lowers prices. 

APEC encourages trade and investment in clean sources of energy. It helps strengthen cargo and port security by working to standardize customs and screening procedures. APEC seeks to prevent threats to public health such as avian influenza and promotes food and product safety. It is creating guidelines to bolster the protection and enforcement of intellectual property rights.  APEC operates on the basis of open dialogue and non-binding agreements. 

APEC's member economies are Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, the Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, the United States, and Vietnam.

For information on the policy work the Chamber is pursuing within APEC please click here


The Chamber is a leading representative of the U.S. APEC Business Coalition, which was formed to organize the U.S. business community's engagement in APEC. The coalition includes the Council of the Americas, National Center for APEC, the U.S.-ASEAN Business Council, the U.S.-Asia Pacific Council, U.S.-China Business Council, the U.S.-Japan Business Council, the U.S. Council for International Business.