210608 inglisnomination hsgac


June 08, 2021


Dear Chairman Peters and Ranking Member Portman:

The U.S. Chamber of Commerce strongly supports the nomination of John C. (“Chris”) Inglis to be the first National Cyber Director. Mr. Inglis is the right choice at this critical time for America’s cybersecurity.

Mr. Inglis has extensive experience in government. In his 28-year career at the National Security Agency (NSA), he served as Deputy Director and Chief Operating Officer, the NSA’s highest civilian position. While at NSA, he developed significant interagency experience and deep relationships with senior U.S. government leaders, Members of Congress, the U.S. business community, and essential foreign partners and allies.

Following his retirement from NSA, Chris remained dedicated to improving America’s cybersecurity. He is the inaugural Distinguished Visiting Professor for Cyber Studies at the U.S. Naval Academy, and he has a unique understanding of the cybersecurity challenges that American businesses face. He understands and appreciates the necessary collaboration between government and the private sector to enhance America’s national and economic security and create an environment of collective defense.

Mr. Inglis also played a pivotal role as Commissioner on the bipartisan U.S. Cyberspace Solarium Commission. In this role, he engaged with various stakeholders, including the business community, to ensure robust dialogue throughout the process. The fiscal year 2021 National Defense Authorization Act includes many of the Commission’s recommendations and could be considered the most comprehensive U.S. cyber legislation to date. This body of work will be vital as the Office of the National Cyber Director executes its mandate to update the U.S. national cyber strategy.

Mr. Inglis has a distinguished record of service and demonstrates exceptional operational, strategic, policy, and political skills that would serve him well as the first National Cyber Director.


Christopher D. Roberti

cc: Members of the Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs

Members of the Senate Armed Services Committee

210608 inglisnomination hsgac